Seafood Orzo Pilaf

My first time having orzo was in the Macaroni Grill italian restaurant on Davie street. I felt in love immediatley with this rice shaped pasta. It’s chewy yet smooth, every bite was so much fun just for the texture of the pasta. I’ve always wanted to try to make it at home. Now I have my little herb garden on my belcony, I finaly get to make my favorite pasta. I guess after all, I am still a rice eater by heart, even my favorite pasta is rice shaped!

This recipe is adopted from the Reluctant Gourmet.

dscf1646.jpg

Ingredients:

2 tbsp butter

250g uncooked orzo

1 clove of garlic, minced

 4 campari tomatoes, chop into bite size

1 cup of water, 1 1/2 cup of chicken stock

 6 shrimps and 6 small scallops

salt and pepper, to taste

1/4 cup freshly chopped parsley and basil

1/2 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese

Instructions:

Heat a large sauce pot or fry pan over medium high heat. Add the butter and melt. Add the garlic and cook for a couple of minutes. Add the orzo and cook with the garlic for 3 to 4 minutes, stirring frequently so the orzo doesn’t burn. If the pan seems too hot, turn down the heat to medium. Add about 3/4 tomato to cook with the orzo. I like to have most of the tomatoes fully cooked so that the orzo can suck in the flavor of tomatoes.

Add the chicken stock to the pan and bring it to a boil. Lower heat and simmer uncovered for about 10 minutes while the orzo absorbs the stock. Be sure to stir every so often. Add shrimps and scallops, the rest of tomatoes and the fresh herbs. Season with salt and pepper and then cover and cook for a few more minutes until all the stock has been absorbed into the orzo. Be sure to stir so the orzo doesn’t stick to the pan.

 Stir in the grated Parmesan cheese at the end just before serving. 

2 Responses

  1. This looks quite good…it sounds almost like a “pasta risotto.”
    I’ve never had this kind of pasta before…will have to go find it.

    I guess you truly are a rice girl at heart ;)

  2. It is like risotto, but I just like this much better. I found risotto rice kinda hard to chew…..

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

