Smokey tasty!

 

I’ve stop updating my blog for sometime. Not that I stop cooking, but my life was ever changing since last summer’s visit to Montreal. I know it is quite lame to blame use “busy life” as an excuse, so I will stop apologizing and start blogging again. I do have quite a tasty journey over the past few months and I want to share with you. Let the feast began with the tasty Montréal smoke meat sandwich.
Schwartz’s is a local favorite sandwich shop with limited seating and always a line-up even in the weekdays. They have been serving the famous montreal smoke meat sandwich with rye bread and pickled cucumber for about 80 years. It came to my top list of “must eats” when I did my little research for tasty spots of Montreal. The list was so long that indeed it became “endless” but without this post by AEB, my five-week staying could never be as tasty as it was. Many thanks to AEB! Back to Schwartz, as I am from the Vancouver, eating a big stack of meat on bread is just not in my diet. Not that people in Vancouver are all vege-loving tree-hugging hippies, we do have Memphis Blues BBQ where chow down a whole rack of ribs occasionally, but I will say light meals like Sushi is defintly the love of Vancourites. But having a fully loaded meat sandwich like this was still an adventure for me. The combination is quite simple, two slice of slightly sour rye bread, spread with yellow english mustards and stuff it with layers and layers of freshly sliced smoke meat with lots of pepper on the rim of the meat slices, et Voila!  
The sandwich is so generously packed that the meat to bread ratio was almost 4-to-1. I share with my friend and both of us got so full by just half of an sandwich. It was indeed the tastiest sandwich I’ve ever had. The smoke meat was very moist, well flavored with a good balance of salt and peppery crust, cooked to such perfection that the first bite of it just fell into hundreds of small meat pieces that I didn’t even need to chew. Such simple combination, with the best ingredients and lost of care, it was heavenly. This sandwich marked my first bite of Montréal. The good ones, and bad ones were yet to come. 
ps: I do believe the first time is always the best, my second visit and third visit to Schwartz was never as good as the first time. For some reason i found their sandwich was getting smaller and less meaty. But it was still good.
2 Responses

  1. Thank youThank youThank youThank youThank youThank youThank youThank youThank youThank youThank youThank you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    For finding this place for me to go!
    A MEAT LOVERS DREAM ;)

  2. That is a lot of meat.

    mmm…wanna try. Reminds me of the backbacon sandwiches at St. Lawrence market in Toronto.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

